Skip to content
September 13, 2011 / the s.a. project

i return to the monsters i like

Aquatint – Sahar Ansari

It’s time to move away from that dirty post, from that madness, from the monsters that will always lurk in the corners. I want to bring you back to my world of ART where I actually like the monsters. In fact I go monster-hunting quite often.

Here’s a selection of work that people have emailed me over the past few weeks. I love their dirty little monsters. I love how they make me feel.

SAMI SHAH

Many of you have heard of or seen the brilliant stand-up comedian Sami Shah. I only recently learnt that he likes to draw when he shared with me his Tumblr and deviant art accounts. I love how dark the funny man can get.

MARIA KHAN

Maria Khan paints big-bossomed mature women who sit comfortably in their piles of corpulent flesh and colourful clothes, every smile showing off a beautifully crooked set of teeth. A childlike ribbon, a golden tooth, a pet alligator…something is delightfully wrong about them.

Ali Sultan

This photographer captures perfectly the delirium that is a scream, in ‘Screaming is not Allowed‘. Reminds me of some of the studies I did for my painting studies for my BFA, back in 2004. I love these. Aren’t they just gorgeous!

        

SAHAR ANSARI

Although this next work was not sent to me I have loved it all from the day I saw it. Sahar Ansari a.k.a angelshit. There is so much to say here but I would never know when to start and when to stop. Her monsters have often stepped out of her head and walked into mine.

        

This is just a small sampling of the multitude of grotesquely gorgeous monsters that we all have in our heads. Share some with me. Anything and everything is welcome in my twisted little world. Drop a halfling in my inbox (saira@sairaansari.com). I’d love to play.

9 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. saba ansari / Sep 13 2011 1:59 pm

    Maria Khan’s work – wow!

    • the s.a. project / Sep 13 2011 7:12 pm

      Her drawing skill is phenomenal and she has taken this direction from her previous work – highly detailed and realistic drawings/paintings she was doing before in the Punjab University. Now in the MA programme at NCA she paints these large scale canvases, cuts through thick sheets of pasted paper, plays with collage and makes these fantastical creatures on large sheets of drawing paper. She’s got good energy!

  2. zem / Sep 13 2011 4:04 pm

    love all the work,had no idea sami shah had this side too!!!

    • the s.a. project / Sep 13 2011 7:13 pm

      Neither did I. It was a great surprise though. His new website however does have links to his drawings, so it really isn’t a state secret anymore!

  3. Maria Khan (@MariaKhan16) / Sep 13 2011 11:01 pm

    like everyone even i am shocked to see Sami Shahs work… its great. but personally i feel more connected with SAHAR ANSARI work. very engaging. i m just looking at them.. and looking and them. there is sooooo much to see! i minimize the window, start doing my other work, thn i open it again thinking probably i missed something!! its loaded! *love*

  4. Forbidden Fruit / Sep 15 2011 6:45 pm

    Sami Shah draws too! WOW.. Amazing work!
    The post looks like an arty portal into the occult. Loved it. Quite stimulating..

Trackbacks

  1. i return to the monsters i like | Tea Break
  2. a chorus of hollow souls « The s.a. Project

Leave a Reply

