Skip to content
May 15, 2011 / the s.a. project

draw on me

Here’s a great collaborative piece between Photographer mother Soofia Asad and 5-year-old Scribbler daughter Diya, who live in Thailand.

Sometimes art can be just this simple. It isn’t always about being complicated. I fell in love with this minimal piece that was posted on facebook today.

This is what Soofia says about the collaboration:

“She (Diya) is very interested in the kind of experimental work that I’m doing these days and keeps giving me her ideas. She drew a picture of me on a paper and suggested that I take a picture of myself with that drawing in front of my face (getting inspiration from my dp before this one) – so I suggested to her to draw me on a glass while I held it in front of my face. Then we took the picture in ambient light coming from the balcony. I’m holding the glass with one hand and the camera was on tripod triggered by a remote.”

What do you think?

You can peek into more of Soofia’s work on her websites:

The Next Post…

…will be about Nadia Khawaja‘s one day preview at the Grey Noise gallery yesterday. Very delicious!

and…

Everyone please go pick a copy of Sohbet – Pakistan’s only contemporary arts journal. The 2nd issue is now out and available at NCAGrey Noise and other places.

10 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Naqsh Raj / May 15 2011 10:56 pm

    Hey Saira
    Its a beautiful post.
    I think great art works certainly depict simple things with aesthetics.

    Looking forward to see more.
    Love and Peace
    Naqsh Raj

    • the s.a. project / May 16 2011 12:11 am

      Thanks Naqsh!

      I know you would be one to appreciate the simplicity in art!
      I saw your work on the vasl residency album. Congratulations again!

      Peace back at you
      s.a.

  2. Naqsh Raj / May 17 2011 10:54 am

    Thank you but I think I m a settler and short time residency is just not my thing. To keep my self in a process I performed a few things and offcourse learned alot from them. One of my canves constantly reminded me of zobia’s amazing visuals and the sparkling case, which i made for my still life to make it look precious, very much resembled mizna’s and rabia’s mysterious boxes.
    Vasl is an amazing plate form for emerging artists.
    The artists from BNU, Muzzumil and Hassan, are self made people. They told me alot about their struggle time. Muzzumil is an extremly skilled calligrapher though he doesnt call him self a calligrapher because Kalam is not the only tool he uses to share his ideas. Hassan is an intense person, he finds simple conclusions of complecated things through his minimal visuals.
    Clement Greenberg used to live with the artist inorder to write for them, otherwise abstract expressionism was a meaningless arrival.

    Rest some other time.

    Peace

    • the s.a. project / May 18 2011 6:48 pm

      Thanks a lot for writing all of that. And I know you. You are a free spirit that cannot be bound down and you hate definitions. That is what I’ve always liked about you and your work. One of the very very few people I know who are painting for the love of paint. and who’re getting it right too!

      And I thoroughly enjoyed the Clement Greenberg factoid. Maybe I should start asking artists if I can live with them now! what fun. Which reminds me I never got to stay at your house in Quetta. Oh well, maybe next time!

      Keep visiting and keep writing. I enjoy it immensely.

      • Naqsh Raj / May 18 2011 11:41 pm

        YOU ARE WELCOME TO THE HOSTEL’S WARM I MEAN VERY WARM ROOM.
        BECAUSE I M NOT IN QUETTA THESE DAYS.

  3. Naqsh Raj / May 17 2011 10:56 am

    and sorry for the allot of spelling mistakes above.

    • the s.a. project / May 18 2011 6:45 pm

      no problem!

      • Naqsh Raj / May 20 2011 12:02 am

        BY THE WAY WE LIVED ALMOST TOGETHER FOR 2 YEAR, GREW WITH EACHOTHER.
        SHARED ALLOT. MANY FANTASTIC MOMENTS. I WAS LUCKY ENOUGH TO BE THE
        PART WITH YOU ALL, SPECIALLY YOU CHAUDRY SAAB.
        YOU ARE A VERY BRAVE PERSON,I M PROUD OF YOU.

  4. Tehreem / May 19 2011 2:33 pm

    such a nice blog……

Trackbacks

  1. draw on me | Tea Break

Leave a Reply

