Skip to content
March 28, 2011 / the s.a. project

hatemail

Sigh! more and more hatemail! It’s funny at times but mostly very aggressive. I guess any kind of critical debate or asking questions is taken in one way…negatively. And so people naturally assume that if I have an opinion and I want to talk/write about it then I’m most possibly and egotistical bastard! gee thanks. What ever happened to free thinking and questioning.

The funny thing is, everyone talks about these issues, but because I choose to go on record and write this I become Satan’s spawn. Are you trying to tell me that everyone else in the art world in Pakistan don’t have strong opinionated biases?

I’m made of tougher stuff and I don’t think I’ll stop talking about what I think but for people to say that I’m a pretentious batameez person is….weird. The thing is I wish if people had such concerns they’d address them to me and give me a chance to respond. I might be able to get my point across or even find that I’m wrong in some places. Oh well…here’s another example of people-hating.

*****************************************

A reader commented on the Art Dubai journal:

ahmed says:

March 3, 2011 at 2:17 pm

extremely pretentious. how can you criticize gallery systems while being represented by such a high notch one. how can u put other artistic practices as commercial commodities when you are trying to do the same (make work and sell) why r u such a contradicting human being. and stop spamming people advertising that you made it to IAS OR ART DUBAI OR THIS INTERVIEW because in your blog you try to put down other artists when they succeed. Mehreen Murtaza has great imagination and respect for other people.

to which I have replied (and still awaiting moderation!)

Saira Ansari says:

Your comment is awaiting moderation.

March 28, 2011 at 10:22 am

Well Ahmed, I’m sorry if you’re so offended but all you have to do is NOT read what you don’t like. I express my views as I feel them. No where will you detect that I have an attitude of superiority but everywhere what you will find is my constant will to express my opinion.

My investigation in the art market is an academic one which I pursued as part of my MA education. My blog however is personal and I say what I please. If you try and read some of it (before you write me off as an egoist) you will see that I take a lot of sarcastic jabs at myself and my own practice also.

The ‘high notch’ gallery and I have had a relationship for more than a year where I had still not made a single rupee! Art Dubai was the first forum where the work was deliberately ‘commercial’ but I don’t think you ever tried finding out what the work was and why it was they way it was.

Please tell me which artist I have put down in my blog personally? I have only talked critically of curatorial practices and gallery spaces.
Also I have not spammed anyone so please back off.

And I love Mehreens work to bits. glad you do too.

Chill out and learn to read something critical too, whether or not you agree with it is a different matter altogether. Hatemail will really not get you anywhere.

*****************************************

So there….

11 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Bass / Mar 28 2011 11:53 am

    Well responded! Here’s to the Goat Ball Revolution!

    • the s.a. project / Mar 28 2011 12:01 pm

      The goat ball is Hurmat ul Ain’s genius quotient, but I’ll take any support at this point!

      • dementeducky / Mar 28 2011 12:07 pm

        An articulated response like that would most probably go over his/her head……it’s a shame how people would let their emotions run wild while their brain goes into hibernation mode…just need a swift kick in the GBs to get ’em reeling….

        Here’s to the GB Revolution then….here here! 🙂

  2. dementeducky / Mar 28 2011 12:03 pm

    Hehe….

  3. No one in particular / Mar 28 2011 12:09 pm

    Lol Ahmed, a ting of jealousy I detect in your base-less, knowladge-less hate mail. I am sorry i dont mean any disrespect, but my friend if you had learnt to read you would realize its people like you that are actually shutting out intellectualism and provoking thoughtlessness in our country. Shame shame, i am a musician and there is a song i would like to dedicate to you. Its called Loser – Beck !

    And btw well responded madam Saira Ansari !! Godspeed to ya !!

  4. the s.a. project / Mar 28 2011 5:37 pm

    Thank you all for the support!

    If there’s still any doubt left in someone else’s mind then they should refer to the project and the autobiography paragraphs for a clearer idea on what my ranting is about.

  5. Umer Butt / Mar 29 2011 12:23 am

    Brilliant!
    HIGH NOTCH GALLERY *humbled* to hear that.

    xx

Trackbacks

  1. hatemail | Tea Break
  2. goatballing « The s.a. Project
  3. Whats Fair baby? « The s.a. Project

Leave a Reply

