Skip to content
December 9, 2010 / the s.a. project

some tea with intestines please

So it’s time to start inviting people to the Degree Show. It’s the most frightful invitation I have extended in a very long time. Almost like asking people to come in for tea and a chat about my intestines.

Emm Yes Saira, I quite liked the idea of your intestines but that piece of your appendix on Quddus Mirza really pissed me off.”

or something to that extent. oh crap oh crap.

Which brings me to the crucial topic of diplomacy. Everyone seems to think that I’m digging myself a hole talking about artists and critics and actually taking names instead of saying the very lovely baloch of the black shalwar kameez of the hostel football team of the sculptureness of the accent…of shutup. its Jamil Baloch already.

Andy Warhol-I think everybody should like everybody - online source

The point is, I’m not making personal attacks. I’m just talking directly about things that include real artists with real names. So, even though the Imran Qureshi post I wrote, got more shocks out of the ‘audience’, the artist himself has been very nice to me and not shown any signs of stabbing me in the back…as yet.

My thesis work is almost all about my foray into the non-visual-making side of the artworld. I’m looking at art critics and their writings and trying to articulate how I see a bizarre network of words, opinions, blue-chippiness and gallery attitudes in determining how art is showed, seen, absorbed, sold and shat.

And if my lack of diplomacy is a problem, I’d like to invite you in advance to my successful fail-party! and IF I pass, then I’ll just have a smaller party where people won’t be having a good time pointing fingers at me.

So if you have time, are curious (or bi-curious), want to sock me a punch, or see what we’ve been up to please make your way to NCA on January the 11th, 2011 for the MA (Hons.) Visual Arts Degree Show 2011. Quite an ominous sounding date actually… 11-1-11. eeks.

and apparently facebook is the first and last horizon for confirming relationships (open or complicated!), marriage announcements, protest calls and last but definitely not the least art show invites. So please attend (or pretend attend) on the facebook event invitation.

 

i love you. i hate you. i atleast-something-you you-cold-fish

s.a.

7 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Umer / Dec 10 2010 6:09 am

    I am a FAN, s.a.

    Wish you best

    U

    • the s.a. project / Dec 10 2010 1:08 pm

      are you a Pak fan? do you like gaaaai soap?
      i’m your fan too. just because i love copying peoples ideas. im a cheater with a vision.

      ssss…aaaaaa…

  2. Marria / Dec 10 2010 3:15 pm

    I’m a fan too!

    P.S – Tasty intestines! Nom nom…

  3. Shehneela / Jan 4 2011 11:06 am

    Yes, you do need lots of luck! 😀
    Thats gonna be one kick ass thesis!! good luck! 😀
    I wish I could attend it!
    Make a video and post it. or better, telecast it live! 🙂
    S.
    I am loving your blog to bits!

    • the s.a. project / Jan 4 2011 1:30 pm

      Merci Merci!
      I’m glad you’re enjoying it. Why don’t you subscribe to it? That way the posts will land up in your inbox every time I put something up.

      oh and the Thesis details, documentation, etc will also be put on the Blog!
      Keep a look out.
      x

  4. Shehneela / Jan 4 2011 9:57 pm

    Just subscribed 🙂
    waiting for more more more!
    S.

Leave a Reply

